Leap Of Faith

What is it about people and change? We crave it but at the same time we resist it. Why?
Is it scary? Yes! Does it take courage? You bet! Is it worth it? Definitely!

This past year I broke my leg in three places, what they call a trimalleolar fracture. I could not put weight on my leg for three months which meant – no walking, no work, no driving, really I could not do much of anything but hobble around my place on my walker. Let’s just say it gave me plenty of time to think. This state of my affairs reminded me of a line from that old song by Kenny Rogers and the First Edition, “What Condition My Condition Is In.” I had never been in a place like this before. I decided early on that I would look at this event as a major positive in my life. I can say with a 100 percent certainty that this was the best thing that has happened to me in the last ten years. It was, as Homer Simpson said , “ It was a crisitunity!” I was experiencing a crisis and I knew on some level that there was a gigantic opportunity right in front of me.

I made four goals – #1 to walk again, #2 to lose the more than 75 pounds I gained over the past twelve years, #3 to develop into a much sought after public speaker and #4 to finish the book that had been taking up space in my head for the past twenty years.

I took a leap of faith, jumped out of my comfort zone and committed to achieving these four goals.

Leave a Reply

